Navigate Up
Sign In

Human rights

Public Services, Public Transport and Public Places : Area where discrimination is prohibited | CDPDJ

Public services, public transport and public places

Public services, public transport and public places

  • IMPRIMER LE DOCUMENT.
  • Les deux prochains liens contiennent des informations qui ne respectent pas les standards sur l'accessibilité du Web du gouvernement du Québec.
  • Partager sur Facebook.
  • Partager sur Twitter.

Every person has a full and equal right to access public services, public transport and public places. This right is guaranteed under the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms This link will redirect you to an external Website in a new window..

Therefore, discrimination and harassment are prohibited with respect to public services, public transport and public places. For example, a merchant cannot deny access to his store to a person with a service dog.

Public services, public transport and public places include:

  • Businesses, restaurants and hotels
  • Parks, camp sites and caravan sites
  • Schools and churches

Public services, public transport and public places do not include:

Federal institutions such as:

  • The federal public service
  • Banks
  • Telecommunications companies such as Radio-Canada (CBC) and TVA
  • Air, rail or sea transportation services such as Air Canada and Via Rail

These institutions are governed by the Canadian Human Rights Act This link will redirect you to an external Website in a new window. and are under the jurisdiction of the Canadian Human Rights Commission This link will redirect you to an external Website in a new window..

Click on the thumbnail to view the text.

Please note: These answers are to be used for information purposes only, and do not constitute legal advice.

  1. I am 55 years old, and I enjoy going to bars. Can I be denied access to a bar because I am too old?

    No, denying access to a bar based on age is prohibited, unless the person has not reached the legal drinking age (18). To learn more… about Age as a ground of discrimination

  2. Can a restaurant deny us access because we are a family with young children and it's "a trendy bistro for young professionals"?

    No, that constitutes discrimination based on the parents' civil status and the age of the children, two grounds of discrimination prohibited by the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms. To learn more… about Civil Status as a ground of discrimination

  3. I am homeless. I sometimes have enough money to eat in a small neighbourhood restaurant. I always have to pay for my meal when I order, but other customers pay after they eat. When I asked the waitress why, she replied that it is because I am homeless. Am I a victim of discrimination?

    Yes, you should not be treated differently because you are homeless; it is contrary to the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms. To learn more… about Social Condition as a ground of discrimination

  4. I am a high-school student. I have attention deficit with hyperactivity. I could do well in school if I benefited from adaptive measures. Am I allowed to request an accommodation?

    Yes, your school has the obligation to accommodate you in order to provide you with conditions that will support your academic achievement. To learn more… about Disability as a ground of discrimination

  5. The owners of a camp site turned back a gay couple claiming it's geared for families. Are they allowed to do that?

    No. The Charter prohibits discrimination against a person or persons based on sexual orientation. In addition, no one can deny others access to public transport, or public places, including camp and trailer sites. To learn more… about Sexual Orientation as a ground of discrimination

  6. I am a young Black man and I drive my father's car. The police often stop me and ask who the car belongs to. They also ask to see my driver's license, registration certificate, insurance, etc. Yet, I have committed no offence. Is this racial profiling?

    Yes. The police, who are in a position of authority, are stopping without justification since you have not committed any offence. To learn more… about Race as a ground of discrimination

  7. Can a security officer ask me to leave a public place such as a restaurant or a shopping centre because I am breastfeeding my child?

    No, the Human Rights Tribunal has rendered a decision This link will redirect you to an external Website in a new window. (in French only) confirming that "breastfeeding is not an act of exhibitionism; it is an act of nature intimately related to a woman's ability to give birth to a child". To learn more… about Sex as a ground of discrimination

Click on the thumbnail to view the text.

 

Do you think you are a victim of discrimination or harassment with respect to public services, public transport and public places?

Check whether you can file a complaint before the Commission by learning about:

The ground or grounds relevant to your case:

If your case involves:

Naviguer vers le haut
Connexion

Droits de la personne

Services, transports et lieux publics : domaines où la discrimination est interdite | CDPDJ

Services, transports et lieux publics

Services, transports et lieux publics

  • IMPRIMER LE DOCUMENT.
  • Les deux prochains liens contiennent des informations qui ne respectent pas les standards sur l'accessibilité du Web du gouvernement du Québec.
  • Partager sur Facebook.
  • Partager sur Twitter.

Tous les individus ont le droit d’avoir un accès égal aux services, aux transports et aux lieux publics. C’est un droit garanti par la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne Cet hyperlien vous mène vers un site externe..

Ainsi, la discrimination et le harcèlement sont interdits dans le domaine des services, des transports et des lieux publics. En effet, un commerçant ne peut, par exemple, interdire l’accès à son magasin à une personne accompagnée de son chien d’assistance.

Le domaine des services, transports et des lieux publics couvre :

  • les commerces, restaurants et hôtels
  • les parcs et terrains de camping et de caravaning
  • les écoles et églises

Le domaine des services, transports et des lieux publics ne couvre pas les institutions de compétence fédérale comme :

  • la fonction publique fédérale
  • les banques
  • les entreprises de télécommunications (Radio-Canada, TVA, etc.)
  • les services de transport aérien, ferroviaire ou maritime (Air Canada, Via Rail, etc.)

C'est la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne Cet hyperlien vous mène vers un site externe. qui s'applique à ces institutions et c'est la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne  Cet hyperlien vous mène vers un site externe. qui peut intervenir.

Les réponses à ces questions sont offertes à titre d’information, mais ne constituent pas un avis juridique.

  1. J’ai 55 ans et j’aime fréquenter les bars. Peut-on me refuser l’entrée dans un bar sous prétexte que je suis trop vieille ?

    Non. Il est interdit de refuser l’accès à un bar à une personne en raison de son âge, sauf si la personne n’a pas l’âge légal (18 ans) pour fréquenter ce genre d’établissement. Pour plus d’information…sur l'âge comme motif de discrimination

  2. Un restaurant peut-il nous refuser l’accès parce que nous sommes une famille avec de jeunes enfants, en raison de la vocation de son établissement, qui se veut un « bistro branché pour jeunes professionnels » ?

    Non. Il s’agit de discrimination fondée sur l’état civil des parents et l’âge des enfants, deux motifs interdits de discrimination par la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne. Pour plus d’information…sur l'état civil comme motif de discrimination

  3. Je suis sans-abri. Parfois, j’ai assez d’argent pour manger dans un petit resto de quartier. On me fait toujours payer mon repas quand je le commande alors que les autres clients paient après avoir mangé. Quand j’ai demandé pourquoi, la serveuse m’a dit que c’est parce que je suis un sans-abri. Est-ce que je suis victime de discrimination ?

    Oui. On ne devrait pas vous traiter différemment parce que vous êtes sans-abri : c’est contraire à la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne. Pour plus d’information…sur la condition sociale comme motif de discrimination

  4. Je suis une élève au secondaire. J’ai un déficit d’attention avec hyperactivité. Je pourrais bien réussir à l’école si je bénéficiais de certaines mesures d’adaptation. Est-ce je peux demander un accommodement ?

    Oui. L’établissement scolaire a l’obligation de vous accommoder pour assurer votre réussite scolaire. Pour plus d’information…sur le handicap comme motif de discrimination

  5. Les propriétaires d’un terrain de camping refusent l’accès à un couple gai, en raison de sa vocation « familiale ». Ont-ils le droit d’agir de la sorte ?

    Non. La Charte interdit d’exercer de la discrimination envers une ou des personnes en raison de leur orientation sexuelle. De plus, personne ne peut empêcher autrui d'avoir accès aux moyens de transport ou aux lieux publics, y compris les terrains de camping et de caravaning. Pour plus d’information…sur l'orientation sexuelle comme motif de discrimination

  6. Un agent de sécurité peut-il me demander de quitter un endroit public comme un restaurant ou un centre commercial parce que j’y allaite mon bébé ?

    Non. Un jugement Cet hyperlien vous mène vers un site externe. du Tribunal des droits de la personne a confirmé que « l’allaitement n’est pas un geste d’exhibition, qu’il s’agit d’un geste naturel intimement lié à la capacité d’une femme de donner naissance à un enfant. » Pour plus d’information…sur le sexe comme motif de discrimination

Veuillez cliquer sur l'onglet ci-dessous pour afficher le texte correspondant.

 

Vous croyez être victime de discrimination ou de harcèlement dans le domaine des services, transports et lieux publics ?

Vérifiez si vous pouvez porter plainte à la Commission en vous renseignant sur le ou les motifs qui correspondent à votre cas :

Les motifs interdits de discrimination

Si votre cas concerne…