Navigate Up
Sign In
Popular publications | CDPDJ

Popular publications

Popular publications

Leaflets

Filing a Report with the DYP is Already Protecting a Child
PDF - 550 Ko - 28 pages - Year of publication: 2008

A child living in a situation that may endanger his or her security may find it very difficult to talk about it. Therefore, people close to a child play a significant role in identifying difficulties and situations which may endanger his or her safety and development. This guide is intended for the general public, and more specifically, for persons working with children. It raises awareness, provides answers to frequently asked questions and helps individuals make an informed decision about whether to report a situation to the Director of Youth Protection (DYP).


Our Services: Defending and promoting your rights
PDF - 182 Ko - 8 pages - Year of publication: 2012

The Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse works to help you defend and promote your rights. This leaflet summarizes the Commission’s mandate and services, as well as the rights it is committed to enforcing.


Elderly Persons: Defending your rights
PDF - 182 Ko - 8 pages - Year of publication: 2011

You want to find out if you or someone you know is experiencing exploitation? The Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse can help you. This leaflet explains what is exploitation and what the Commission can do to ensure your safety or that of a loved one.


Filing a Complaint: Defend your rights and freedoms
PDF - 198 Ko - 8 pages - Year of publication: 2011

If you think you are a victim of discrimination, harassment, or exploitation, find out how to file a complaint before the Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse. This leaflet explains the complaints process, investigation and mediation.


Right to housing without discrimination
PDF - 236 Ko - 8 pages - Year of publication: 2011

Do you believe you were denied an apartment based on your ethnic origin, because you have children, or on any other ground of discrimination? This leaflet explains how to file a complaint if you are a victim of discrimination or harassment by a landlord or rental agent.

Documents

Aboriginal peoples: Fact and fiction
PDF - 3 Mo - 96 pages - Year of publication: 2009

The relationship between Aboriginal peoples and Québec’s European colonizers goes back a very long way; it is important to shed light on this forgotten history. This may also help rethink today’s relationship, which often suffers from mistrust and misunderstanding. This document demystifies the reality of the various Aboriginal communities living in Québec by describing them, their history, and their diversity.


Application and interpretation of section 18.1 of the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms (hiring and pre-hiring process)
PDF - 287 Ko - 23 pages - Year of publication: 2016

During the hiring process, employers cannot reject a job applicant based on sex, skin colour, or any other personal characteristic that are grounds of discrimination. Indeed, direct or indirect questions aimed at obtaining information about a candidate’s personal characteristics are prohibited in pre-hiring forms, medical examinations, and during job interviews, unless the question pertains to qualifications or skills required for the job.


The Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms Made Easy
PDF - 18 MB - 39 pages - Year of publication: 2017

This simplified and illustrated version of the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms explains the sections of the Law in clear language and with the help of examples.


Discussion paper: La Charte et la prise en compte de la religion (in French only)
PDF - 991 Ko - 87 pages - Year of publication: 2008

This document focuses on expressions of faith in the public sphere, and the relationship between the State and religion. It explains the legal basis for freedom of religion and the State’s obligation to respect religious neutrality under the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms. This document also discusses the notion of reasonable accommodation as a corollary of the right to equality. Moreover, it proposes some key points for addressing the issue of conflict between the right to religious freedom and the right to gender equality, particularly in the context of the duty to reasonable accommodation.


(Bill 78) Comments on the Act to Enable Students to Receive Instruction from the Postsecondary Institutions they Attend (S.Q. 2012, chapter 12) (in French only)
PDF - 1 Mo - 57 pages - Year of publication: 2012

Following several weeks of protests against the increase of Québec universities’ tuition fees, Bill 78 was adopted during a special sitting of the Québec National Assembly on May 18, 2012. In this document, the Commission analyzes the law in light of fundamental rights and freedoms.

​​​​
 

Search for a publication

Naviguer vers le haut
Connexion
Publications en demande | CDPDJ

Publications en demande

Publications en demande

Dépliants

Faire un signalement au DPJ, c’est déjà protéger un enfant
PDF - 554 Ko - 27 pages - Année de publication : 2008

Il peut être très difficile pour un enfant vivant une situation dangereuse pour sa sécurité ou son développement d’en parler. Les personnes qui l’entourent jouent donc un rôle très important dans le dépistage des difficultés et des situations qui pourraient mettre en danger un enfant. Ce guide est destiné à l’ensemble de la population et, plus particulièrement, à toutes les personnes qui travaillent auprès des enfants. Il constitue un outil de sensibilisation et de formation qui répond aux questions fréquemment posées afin d’éclairer la décision de signaler une situation au Directeur de la protection de la jeunesse (DPJ).


Nos services : pour défendre et promouvoir vos droits
PDF - 359 Ko - 8 pages - Année de publication : 2012

La Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse est à votre service pour vous aider à défendre et à promouvoir vos droits. Ce dépliant présente ses mandats et ses services ainsi que les droits qu’elle veille à faire respecter.


Personnes âgées : à la défense de vos droits
PDF - 677 Ko - 8 pages - Année de publication : 2011

Vous voulez vérifier si votre situation ou celle d'un proche constitue un cas d'exploitation ? La Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse peut vous aider. Ce dépliant vous explique ce qu’est l’exploitation et comment la Commission peut agir pour assurer votre sécurité ou celle de vos proches.


Porter plainte : défendre vos droits et libertés
PDF - 897 Ko - 8 pages - Année de publication : 2011

Si vous croyez être victime de discrimination, de harcèlement ou d’exploitation, découvrez comment porter plainte auprès de la Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse. Ce dépliant vous explique les étapes d’une plainte, d’une enquête et d’une médiation.


Droit au logement sans discrimination
PDF - 437 Ko - 8 pages - Année de publication : 2011

Vous croyez qu’on a refusé de vous louer un logement en raison de votre origine ethnique, parce que vous avez des enfants ou pour un autre motif de discrimination ? Ce dépliant vous explique comment porter plainte si vous êtes victime de discrimination ou de harcèlement de la part de votre propriétaire ou locateur.

Documents

Charte des droits et libertés de la personne simplifiée
PDF - 6 MB - 40 pages - Année de publication : 2016

Cette version illustrée de la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne explique les articles de la Loi dans un langage simple et à l’aide d’exemples pour permettre une meilleure compréhension des libertés et droits fondamentaux; du droit à l’égalité (non-discrimination); des droits politiques, des droits judiciaires ainsi que des droits économiques et sociaux.

La Charte simplifiée est disponible dans les langues suivantes :


Mythes et réalités sur les peuples autochtones
PDF - 3 Mo - 96 pages - Année de publication : 2009

Comprendre l’origine lointaine des relations entre les peuples autochtones et les Européens colonisateurs au Québec, c’est lever le voile sur une histoire oubliée. C’est aussi une façon de repenser les rapports souvent teintés de méfiance et d’incompréhension que l’on connaît encore aujourd’hui. Ce document permet de démystifier la réalité des communautés autochtones en présentant les différentes nations vivant au Québec, leur histoire et leur diversité.


L’application et l’interprétation de l’article 18.1 de la Charte sur les modalités d’embauche et de préembauche
PDF - 305 Ko - 23 pages - Année de publication : 2016

Lors d’un processus d’embauche, un employeur ne peut pas écarter un candidat sur la base de son sexe, de la couleur sa peau ou de toute autre caractéristique personnelle qui sont des motifs de discrimination. En effet, les questions directes ou indirectes pour obtenir des renseignements sur les caractéristiques personnelles d’un candidat sont interdites dans les formulaires préembauche, les examens médicaux préembauche et lors d’entrevue d’embauche, sauf si ces questions traitent d’une qualité ou d’une aptitude requise par l’emploi.


Document de réflexion : La Charte et la prise en compte de la religion
PDF - 991 Ko - 87 pages - Année de publication : 2008

Ce document porte sur les manifestations de la foi dans l’espace public et les rapports entre l’État et les religions. Il présente les fondements juridiques de la liberté de religion et l’obligation de neutralité religieuse qui s’impose à l’État en vertu de la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne. Ce document fait aussi le point sur la notion d’accommodement raisonnable comme corollaire du droit à l’égalité et propose certaines clefs pour aborder la question des conflits de droits entre la liberté religieuse et l’égalité des sexes, en particulier dans le cadre d’une obligation d’accommodement raisonnable.


(Projet de loi 78) Commentaires sur la Loi permettant aux étudiants de recevoir l’enseignement dispensé par les établissements de niveau postsecondaire qu’ils fréquentent (L.Q. 2012, chapitre 12)
PDF - 1 Mo - 57 pages - Année de publication : 2012

À la suite de plusieurs semaines de contestation de la hausse des frais de scolarité des universités du Québec, le projet de loi 78 a été adopté en séance extraordinaire par l’Assemblée nationale du Québec le 18 mai 2012. Dans ce document, la Commission livre son analyse de la loi adoptée en regard des libertés fondamentales.

​​​​​​​​
 

Trouver une publication