header
Racism and discrimination
Introduction

As they take part in various activities, the students will have to consider questions such as racism and discrimination, self-respect, respect for others and the common good, unequal relationships between various groups, the rights of minorities, equality, equity and justice. The activities described in this section target the following objectives:

 

 

Teaching guide

The Teaching Guide for this learning situation describes the sequence of activities in detail. The teacher may follow the sequence step by step, or use it as a canvas for a more individualized approach. Each activity is designed to give teachers as much latitude as possible.
The Teaching Guide is divided into three sections: preparation, implementation and integration. The Preparation section describes activities that will help students begin to think about the main topic. The Implementation section describes the stages in a project that can be undertaken with the students, in order to achieve the objectives of the learning situation in a real-life context. Last, the activities in the Integration section can be used by the teacher to review what has been achieved and check what the students have learned.

Student worksheets

Student worksheets are provided for each activity. They can be downloaded, photocopied and distributed in the classroom.

References

The References section of the learning situation includes definitions, and a list of written and Web-based sources. This basic information will help teachers prepare the theme of the learning situation.

Québec Education Program

This section lists the educational aims of each theme and the links with the Québec Education Program.

Duration

The duration of each activity is determined by the teacher. To cover all the activities, the teacher should schedule 5-6 one-hour periods. Teachers should adapt the activities and select those that are most relevant for the students concerned.

Required materials

Teaching guide >>

The Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse

header
Racisme et discrimination
Introduction

Au cours des différentes activités, les élèves devront réfléchir au sujet du racisme et de la discrimination, du respect de soi, de l’autre et du bien public, des rapports inégalitaires entre divers groupes, des droits des minorités, de l’égalité, de l’équité et de la justice. Les activités de cette partie répondent aux objectifs suivants :

 

 

Guide pédagogique

Le guide pédagogique de cette situation d’apprentissage décrit de façon détaillée le déroulement des activités. L’enseignant-e peut suivre ce déroulement étape par étape ou s’en inspirer pour créer sa propre démarche. Chaque activité est conçue de manière à laisser le plus d’autonomie possible aux enseignants-es.

Le guide pédagogique se divise en trois étapes, soit la préparation, la réalisation et l’intégration. La partie Préparation contient des activités qui permettent aux élèves d’amorcer leur réflexion sur le sujet principal. La partie Réalisation présente les étapes d’un projet à entreprendre avec les élèves. Ce projet vise à atteindre les objectifs de la situation d’apprentissage dans un contexte réel. Finalement, les activités de la partie Intégration permettent à l’enseignant-e de revenir sur les acquis et de vérifier les connaissances des élèves.

Fiches de l’élève

Des fiches de l’élève accompagnent les différentes activités. Ces fiches peuvent être téléchargées, photocopiées et distribuées dans la classe.

Références

La partie Références de cette situation d’apprentissage fournit une liste de définitions, de textes et de sites Internet. Sources d’informations de base, ces outils permettront à l’enseignant-e de se familiariser avec le thème de la situation d’apprentissage.

Programme de formation

Cette partie contient les intentions éducatives de chaque thème et les liens que ce thème entretient avec le Programme de formation de l’école québécoise.

Durée

La durée des différentes activités dépend de chaque enseignant-e. L’enseignant-e qui fait l’ensemble des activités devrait prévoir 5-6 périodes d’une heure. Il est conseillé d’adapter les activités et de choisir celles qui sont les plus pertinentes aux besoins de chaque groupe d’élèves.

Matériel requis

Le guide pédagogique >>

La Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse