Equal access to employment

In Québec, discrimination in employment is prohibited under the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms. Another law is designed to ensure a better representation of people who are members of groups often victim of discrimination in the labour force.

The purpose of the Act Respecting Equal Access to Employment in Public BodiesThis link will redirect you to an external website in a new window. is to ensure a more equitable representation of women, visible minorities, ethnic minorities, Aboriginal peoples and people with disabilities within the ranks of these agencies and organizations.

 
                                                   

Measures provided under the Law

The Act includes measures to recruit and hire members of these groups but does not impose quotas to employers.

More than 450 public bodies are subject to this Québec law. For example:

  • Government corporations (Loto-Québec, the Société des alcools du Québec)
  • Hospitals and other institutions in the health and social services network
  • Schools and other educational institutions (school boards, colleges, universities)
  • Municipalities employing more than 100 people, including their police force and their public transit system

Applying for a job

When you apply for a position in one of these organizations, you will be asked to fill a self-identifying form allowing the employer to know whether you’re a woman, a member of a visible minority, a member of an ethnic group, an Aboriginal or a person with a disability.

The information you provide will remain confidential and it will help the employer to put into application an equal access to employment program. This form complies with the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms.

​​​​​​​

L'accès à l'égalité en emploi

Au Québec, la ​discrimination en emploi est interdite par la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne et il existe aussi une loi qui vise à assurer une meilleure représentation des personnes issues de groupes qui sont victimes de discrimination sur le marché du travail.

En effet, la Loi sur l’accès à l’égalité en emploi dans des organismes publics Cet hyperlien vous mène dans une nouvelle fenêtre vers un site externe dont le contenu peut comporter des éléments non-accessibles. a pour objectif d’assurer que les femmes, les minorités ethniques, les minorités visibles, les Autochtones et les personnes handicapées soient mieux représentés au sein de leur personnel.

 
                                                

Les mesures prévues par la Loi

Cette loi prévoit des mesures d’embauche et de recrutement qui permettent aux membres de ces groupes d’accéder à l’emploi. Elle n'impose pas de quotas d'embauche aux employeurs.

Plus de 450 organismes publics sont soumis à cette loi au Québec. Par exemple :

  • des sociétés d’État (Loto-Québec, la Société des alcools du Québec (SAQ))
  • des hôpitaux et d’autres établissements du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux
  • des écoles et d’autres établissements du réseau de l’éducation (commissions scolaires, cégeps, universités)
  • les municipalités de plus 100 employés ainsi que leurs services de police et de transport en commun

Poser sa candidature pour un emploi

Lorsque vous posez votre candidature pour un poste dans l’un de ces organismes, on vous demandera de compléter un formulaire d’auto-identification qui vous permettra d’indiquer à l’employeur si vous êtes une femme, un membre d’une minorité visible, un membre d’un groupe ethnique, un Autochtone ou une personne handicapée.

Ce questionnaire est conforme à la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne. Les informations recueillies, qui restent confidentielles, permettent à l’employeur d’appliquer un programme d’accès à l’égalité en emploi.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​