Navigate Up
Sign In

The Commission

The Commission - Members | CDPDJ



  • Les deux prochains liens contiennent des informations qui ne respectent pas les standards sur l'accessibilité du Web du gouvernement du Québec.
  • Partager sur Facebook.
  • Partager sur Twitter.



Philippe-André Tessier, our vice-president responsible for the Charter mandate, is acting as president since March 15, 2018.

Vice-president responsible for the youth mandate


Vice-president responsible for the Charter mandate

Philippe-André Tessier

Mr. Philippe-André Tessier took office on December 18, 2017 following his nomination by the Québec National Assembly on December 7. Prior to his appointment, Mr.Tessier was Practice Group Leader of Robinson Sheppard Shapiro’s Labour Law Group, acting both as a lawyer and as a Certified Industrial Relations Counsellor. A graduate of Université de Montréal, he is a member of the Québec Bar and a member of Ordre des conseillers en ressources humaines et relations industrielles agréés du Québec (Quebec order of chartered human resources and industrial relations advisors). He is also a certified director of the Collège des administrateurs de société. Listed since 2012 as a leading transportation law practitioner by Best Lawyers in Canada, his practice focuses on labour and employment law under both federal and provincial jurisdictions.

Mr. Tessier is very active in his professional order having been president of the Young Bar of Montréal (AJBM), secretary and treasurer of the Council of the Bar of Montreal and member of the Executive Committee and the General Council of the Barreau du Québec. He was also a member and secretary of Éducaloi's board of directors and was until his appointment, chairman of the board of the Société québécoise d’information juridique (SOQUIJ).Mr.Tessier was also very involved in the college and university student movement during his studies and chaired the Accreditation Committee established under the Act Respecting the Accreditation and Financing of Students’ Associations.

Other members of the Commission

Ms. Gauvreau has been a member of the Québec Bar since 1979. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Licentiate in Law from the University of Ottawa. She worked at the Centre communautaire juridique de l’Outaouais from 1980 to 2014, where she first practised civil, administrative, social and matrimonial law, then youth protection and family law, before going on to manage four offices as well as continuing to practise law.

Isa Iasenza holds a sociology and industrial relations Bachelor’s degree and was a management consultant with the community and ethnocultural partnership sector at the Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire from 2009 to 2013 and from, 1994 to 2009 was planning, programming and research officer. From 1988 to1996, she was coordinator of the Bureau des services aux communautés culturelles with the Ministry of Health and Social Services.

She was also a program adviser with the Health and social services council of metropolitan Montreal (1984-1988), management consultant with the directorate general of the Santa Cabrini Hospital (1985-1986) and human and community relations officer at the Centre des services sociaux du Montréal Métropolitain (1976-1985).

Ms. Lebœuf holds a Bachelor of Arts in psychoeducation and a Master of Social Work, with a focus on gerontology from the Université de Sherbrooke. She has held a variety of positions, including: special educator at the Centre de réadaptation en déficience intellectuelle de l’Estrie; group facilitator at the Association de Sherbrooke pour la déficience intellectuelle; orderly at the Monastère retirement home ; and research assistant at the Université Laval. Ms. Lebœuf is currently coordinator and research agent of the Research Chair on Mistreatment of Older Adults at the Université de Sherbrooke.

After earning a Master’s degree in psychosocial communication from the Université du Québec à Montréal and a certificate in public management from the École nationale d’administration publique (l'ENAP), Mr. Le May is now completing a specialized post-graduate diploma in public administration at the l'ENAP. He is also coordinator of the Service d’accueil et de soutien aux étudiants en situation de handicap [Office responsible for helping and supporting students with disabilities] at the Université du Québec à Montréal.

Previous positions include organizing and leading activities for children with autism spectrum disorder and working for Kéroul as a trainer, speaker and facilitator. Communications and development officer at the Association québécoise interuniversitaire des conseillers aux étudiants en situation de handicap, Mr. Le May was also its President from 2008 to 2016. He also served on the Board of Directors of the International Network on the Disability Creation Process (INDCP) from 2011 to 2017. In 2014, he received the first prize of the contest "Mon parcours! Ma carrière!" from 13 partner organizations of the Comité d'adaptation à la main-d'œuvre pour personnes handicapées (CAMO) for his achievements.

Ms. Roy has worked at IBM since 1999 where she has held several positions, including critical situation manager and accounts manager. She set up business resource groups within the organization to support LGBT employees and has been very involved in raising awareness among staff and management about the realities of LGBT people and in promoting their inclusion in the workplace. She is a board member of Pride at Work Canada and sits on the Committee for a Just Society. Until 2015, she was also President of the Fondation Émergence.

Mr. Sioui holds a Master’s degree in specialized education-psychoeducation and a PhD in social services. He is a professor at the unité d’enseignement et de recherche en sciences du développement humain et social of the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (since 2007).

He was also a lecturer and professor with Université de Sherbrooke’s Department of Psychoeducation (1994-2007). He held the position of psychoeducator at the Centre de développement et de formation de la main-d’œuvre huron-wendat (2000-2004) and at the Centre jeunesse de Québec (1980-2000).

Ms. Villefranche is the Executive Director of the Maison d'Haïti. Since more than 30 years, she is devoted to the education and citizen participation of immigrant populations. Involved in the struggles of social and feminist movements, she was an organizing member of the Marche Du pain et des roses. Ms. Villefranche has been honored with several prizes, including: Bâtisseuse de la cité 2017, Personnalité de la semaine La Presse/Radio-Canada in 2012, and, in 2008, the YWCA Women of Distinction Award in the Information and Education category.


Did you know?

The members of the Commission are appointed by the Assemblée nationale upon the motion of the Premier. These appointments must be approved by two-thirds of the members of the Assemblée.


Anyone can indicate to the National Assembly his or her interest in becoming an officer or a member of the Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse.
Learn more This link will redirect you to an external Website in a new window.